Why traveling is scarier than half marathons

Some people worry about running half marathons. I worry about driving to them.

To pick up my packet for my first half marathon tomorrow morning, I had to drive from my office in Chantilly to Frederick at rush hour. 3 hours later, I’ve made it safely back to my comfy couch, where I’m happily consuming pasta in preparation for the event.

I don’t really get phased over huge things. Big work project? It’ll get done. Half marathon? I ran 12 miles on only sugar fumes 2 weeks ago, no biggie. Driving and getting somewhere ontime? Cue the “We are all going to DIE” panic attack.

There’s something about traveling that really just makes me lose it. There’s so many variables that could go terrible wrong – traffic, slow husbands, stupid drivers, car crashes, husbands taking their damn sweet time because “It doesn’t take an hour to get to the airport,” forgetting things, getting lost – it’s crippling.

We went to Catalina Island for our honeymoon. Catalina is a little island about an hour away from Los Angeles. It’s lovely. It also required only one hour of car time and one hour of boat time, with no pressure of timely arrival. I knew that there was no way our 1 day old marriage could survive the test of traveling. That test (which I failed, by the way) happened instead one week after our wedding when we flew back to Virginia.

Luckily we’re still married, despite the hazards of travel. Christopher has since learned how to deal with his insane  very prepared wife.  Recently, when booking an upcoming trip for a wedding, I instantly went into panic mode.

“The only flights I can find have THREE layovers, and the only hotel nearby is the Super 8 Motel! I hate weddings! I hate traveling! I hate stupid Missouri! Who gets married in Missouri?” I said.

“What’s the big deal? I think it’d be hysterical to watch you run through three airports panicking we’ll miss all our flights,” Christopher said.

I threw my computer on his lap. “MAKE IT BETTER.”

20 minutes, one round trip flight with one layover and a Doubletree Hotel later, the trip was booked. “I decided panicked Allison wasn’t funny enough to make up for the very grouchy Allison that would follow,” he said.

So. Half Marathon. Tomorrow. Barring any really late arrivals, I’d like to run it under 2:30. That’s probably not going to happen. So, instead, I’m going in with a goal of running under 3 hours. Because that should most definitely happen.

I’m nervous!

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why traveling is scarier than half marathons

  1. Kara says:

    1. You need a GPS

    2. Your posts highly amuse me 🙂

    3. I bet you’re going to rock that half marathon tomorrow!!

  2. Kara says:

    You changed your blog name! I like it 🙂

  3. Errign says:

    This post made me smile 🙂 I love to travel – all potential crises aside. By now, I’ve probably actually lived through some people’s worst travel nightmares…8 hours in Denver airport – done. Emergency landing for medical reasons in the Phillipines – check. My personal favorite – stuck in Tokyo-Narita airport in Japan 1 day after the earthquake for 27 hours. 🙂

    Glad your half marathon went well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

