Allergies are eating my treadmill hating soul

Hey all 5 people who read this! Anyone on Daily Mile? It looks like a pretty cool site, but I’m guessing it be even more awesome if it wasn’t just…me. Haha.

Also, does anyone know if there’s a way to change it so that it doesn’t say I’m burning 1000 calories on a 6 mile run? Because I’m pretty sure I’m too small for my 12 minute miles to actually make my runs worthy of 150 calories burned.

Today is my last long run before my half in two weeks! I’ve been going a little crazy, since the pollen has forced me to make my last two long runs – 10 and 11 miles! – on the treadmill. Oh yes. The treadmill. For 11 miles. And today, it’s going to be 12.

My treadmill coping mechanisms:

  • Jersey Shore marathons
  • I used to be fat marathons (I’m sensing an MTV theme here…)
  • Magazines – I usually end up not reading them, but at least there’s that option.
  • Music (yay!)
  • BET – yeah, my gym only has 3 channels on the treadmills.

So, today – 12 mile treadmill run. I’d brave the outdoors, but my eyes already look like I had a fantastic celebration on 4/20.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Allergies are eating my treadmill hating soul

  1. Kara says:

    I’m on Daily Mile! http://itsadoglickbabyworld.blogspot.com/2011/04/10k-that-surprised-me.html

    If you click “Details” at the bottom of your workout entry, you can put in your weight to get rid of the excessive calorie burn. I think it assumes you weigh 200lbs if you don’t say otherwise 🙂

    Trashy TV is my key to treadmill running. That’s the main reason we have Netflix and I get Gossip Girl and Desperate Housewives to see me through some runs!

  2. Kara says:

    And that was the wrong link. Ah, Mondays.

    http://www.dailymile.com/people/KaraK2

  3. Devon says:

    I tend to watch trashy reality TV on the treadmill too. Yesterday it was Real Housewives of NJ. Since its already 90 degrees in Florida & I can’t deal with running in the heat, I’ve sequestered myself to the treadmill til Fall.

  4. Maeve says:

    I love Daily Mile! And I just started following your blog- it’s great! I agree on the trashy TV for the treadmill, I need Real housewives of NY or something equally mindless- I love watching things I would otherwise feel guilty wasting time on!

    http://www.dailymile.com/people/MaeveM

Leave a Reply

