Race for Haiti 5K Race Recap

When I drove to this race in the pouring rain, I was freaking out. I’m from California…I don’t know what rain is! Will I slip? Fall? Drown? Fortunately for my sanity, the rain let up right when the race started.

After driving up and down the same street trying to find the unmarked road that the high school was on (thanks for answering your phone, Carmen!) I was more than a little excited when I got there!

 

Kyndra, Carmen and me "flexing"

Course

The 5k took place on a trail, which was completely unexpected. I had assumed we’d be running in the street, but it was in the woods. It’s a good thing it was a small race, or the tiny trail would have been ridiculous to run on. As it was, everyone was pretty spread out and there were only a few instances of flying elbows.

The biggest downside to the trail was that it was so hilly! It didn’t feel like there was a flat spot on the course except for the track at the start and the finish. I was very thankful for all the Leesburg hills I’ve killed myself on in the last few weeks, but even still, my quads were angry with me by the end.

The trail did make for a more interesting run than up and down the street, so the miles went by very quickly.

Organization

I thought the people at Potomac River Running did a fantastic job! All the miles were clearly marked, and every quarter mile or so there was an awesome race volunteer (umbrella in hand) waving us in the right direction. The race started on time, and post race refreshments included water, juice, muffins and bananas. The results were even e-mailed to us the very next morning!

Swag

Because that’s the best part, right? I picked up my packet the day before and got a really nice tech tee that actually fit. If you’re a woman’s size small, you know how shocking this can be!

 

My race

Total Time: 31:17

Splits according to my Garmin

  • Mile 1: 9:39
  • Mile 2: 10:38
  • Mile 3: 10 25

Overall, I was happy with my time, but I was disappointed that my first split was so fast, I could definitely feel it at the end. The hills were rough, and I did twist my ankle at one point. But considering that there were those obstacles, and my last 5K was on an entirely flat street, I’m definitely happy with the fact that I PR’d.

This 5k was in its second year, and I don’t know if it’ll happen again next year. However, it was a good race, and I’d recommend checking out Potomac River Running‘s other local races.

Weekend Plans!

  • Try not to limp around too much after my 9 mile run yesterday.
  • Google ‘black toenail’ and get really creeped out by the idea of my toenail following off. Paint toenail so i don’t have to see it get blacker
  • Buy a vacuum? Buy Easter candy!
  • Use the vacuum? Get crumbs all over the floor!
This entry was posted in Goals, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race for Haiti 5K Race Recap

  1. Brian says:

    Congrats on the race!

  2. Kara says:

    Congrats on the race! Trail 5Ks are hard because you want to go so fast and it’s hard on uneven ground.

    A PR is great!!

Leave a Reply

