Week of take out

Things really picked up this week at both my office and Christopher’s (tis the season for project deadlines, apparently) and I found my days going like this:

  • 6:45-7:15: Wake up, try not to die of the sleepy, silently curse Christopher for opening all the windows so I freeze to death getting out of bed, somehow manage to get out the door.
  • 7:15-8: Sit at traffic lights, listen to the Kane Show, drink coffee, avoid getting in a car accident.
  • 8-4 WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK
  • 4-4:45 : blaaah traffic
  • 4:45-5:45 – Get my sweaty self on at the gym
  • 6-7: Try not to chew off my arm while deciding what to get for dinner. Contemplate making dinner
  • 7: Christopher or I make a take-out run
  • 7:30-9ish: Work again (yay for telecommuting)
  • 10-11ish – Read, then Bed (ish)

Sooo, needless to say, we have no food in the fridge and we had take out every day. I really need to plan better! I know if I just go grocery shopping over the weekend and have yummy, healthy food that I can throw together, it’s fine and I’ll actually cook. Plus I won’t get to work and realize the only thing I brought for lunch was a Larabar and an apple.

My desire to cook anything functional is non existent. You know what I really want to make? Cheez its!

Recipe from Ready Made Magazine! The other thing I am tempted to try is Angela’s Home Made Wheat Thins. And I want to eat them with giant slices of Sharp Cabot Cheddar. So…I guess it’s like a wheaty cheez-it.

I really need to get my act together. My main problem is I am somewhat of a cooking snob – I make homemade pasta sauce, I don’t like canned/jarred/frozen things, and most of my go-to recipes take upwards of an hour. And the last thing I want to do after running 4 miles after work is to spend an hour chopping and stirring. I just want to eat!

Any quick, easy dinner recipe suggestions? Any easy office lunches that are not a Larabar?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week of take out

  1. Kara says:

    How much do you love “War of the Roses” on the Kane show? I would sit in my car even after I got to work, just to hear the end 🙂

    I buy a lot of easy stuff (like premade meatballs and peeled frozen shrimp) to make it easier to throw together dinner in a rush.

  2. Jacquelyn says:

    I like to do all my chopping and prep on a weekend day so that it’s all ready to go. Sometimes I even make a pot of rice or pasta and put it in the fridge for a quick base to work from 🙂 Good luck finding a routine that works for you! Thanks for the Cabot mention- our farm family owners appreciate your support!
    ~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

