Why is eating breakfast so hard?

At the age of 12, I stopped eating breakfast. My previous eggs and toast breakfasts were replaced with a piece of fruit or water, if anything. When I finally learned of the delightful joys of coffee, I cut the fruit out altogether in favor of warm coffee goodness.

Since I’ve been trying to get my workouts in at the unglodly time of 5am, I’ve been trying to figure out the whole “breakfast” thing. I’ve tried:

  • Glass of juice (this settles poorly, in case you were wondering!)
  • Oatmeal (This has to be choked down first thing in the morning)
  • Cereal (again – bleck)
  • Peanut butter toast (most preferred, but I still end up leaving half of it.)

My conclusion is that I can never quite choke down any form of food until about 9am. I’ve been working out and packing breakfast for work, which has been gong pretty well. I still feel a little guilty about no breakfast, especially on days like today, where I woke up at 7 and I’m not going running until 11 or so…

For me, I feel like not having coffee before a run is 10x worse for me than not eating!

On a side note, my 5 year old Canon Point and Shoot camera bit the dust this week when it got thrown around in my purse one too many times. Oops. The little switch that turned it from camera mode to view photos fell off, so I’d have to get a memory card reader to use it. OR, (my favorite option!) a new camera!

Any camera recommendations? Or another non-breakfaster?

This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why is eating breakfast so hard?

  1. 5am workout??? Good for you!
    I LOVE breakfast but I definitely do not think I could eat it before a workout that early in the morning!
    Have you tried protein shake or something other liquid type breakfast? It would go down easier and would be easier to digest!

  2. I have a hard time not eating breakfast. I wake up and somehow end up at the fridge and before I know it, it’s empty and I’m having trouble putting my spoon down. Coffee is very good though!

  3. I’m with Katherine – before I know it I’m at the fridge preparing my morning smoothie. But, many, many years ago I was just like you, and many of my clients struggle with it as well.

    Have you tried a couple of apple slices and almond butter? Or start off small with a couple of apple slices, then move to a dab of almond butter.

    Do you eat late at night? If so, try to stop eating 4 hours before bed. About 1 hour before bed have a glass of lemon water. When you get up, do the same. Then start with your breakfast of a small piece of fruit. Starting small is usually the best way.

  4. Kara says:

    I wake up really hungry in the morning, but not for breakfast foods. I actually usually have more of a lunch meal for breakfast (I’m such a rebel!)

    I think once you start eating breakfast it gets easier!

Leave a Reply

