Vegan Challenge, Days 4-5

Illness/Immunity

I still coughed hard enough today to get asked “you going to make it?” by almost my whole department. But, other than the lingering cough, I really don’t feel that sick. I’ve had energy and even went for a run yesterday and today, which is completely unheard of for me during a sickness. Usually, I feel like death the entire time and spend almost all of my time on the couch.

Not this time! Despite being pumped full of meds, I felt mentally sharp at work and managed to stay focused.

This is the third time I’ve gotten sick in a month and its been essentially the same illness (chest cold!), and I can definitely say that there is a remarkable difference in how I feel this time. Compared to my normally being laid up 4-5 days, I’m really impressed with the only 1 1/2 days of sickness.

Food

Last night saw Cooking Lights Black Bean, Corn and Zucchini Enchiladas:

not pretty, but tasty!

 

They were really quite easy to make, and the enchilada sauce was something I definitely plan on making again. The only thing me and Christopher both agreed on was that the zucchini was a weird addition to an otherwise Mexican food. I made mine without cheese, and Christopher’s with. I would definitely make these again. Probably with chicken, corn and black beans (I know, I know!).

If there’s anything I can eat every single day with delight, it’s Subway. It’s an addiction. And one that I knew I must satisfy today. Fortunately, meat-deprived Christopher was right on board with this idea.

One lettuce, tomato, green pepper, onion and cucumber 6″ on hearty Italian with oil and vinegar later, my addiction was satisfied. Christopher, on the other hand, ordered the BMT – “Biggest, Meatiest, and Tastiest!” according to Subway lore.

Workout

I broke my 5 mile run down into two 2.5 mile runs yesterday and today. Yesterday’s was outside in the freezing cold! I optimistically started out gloveless, but a 1/2 mile later made a quick dash back to the apartment for mismatched gloves. I couldn’t feel my ears by the end of the run. Oops.

Today I made my way to the VERY crowded gym to fit in the other 2.5 miles. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for everyone trying to get healthy. But getting dirty looks from people waiting for a treadmill when I’ve only been on for 20 minutes is not conducive to running zen.

I squeezed in a “twist and detox” podcast workout from YogaJournal to try and open up my lungs after running. My breathing was fine during the run itself, but as soon as I stopped, my lungs squeezed shut and I started coughing uncontrollably. I did Ujayyi breathing on the drive home and it toned the coughing down tremendously.

Anniversary

I’m very excited! Christopher and I are celebrating our first wedding anniversary on Sunday, and he surprised me by booking a little cottage for the weekend in Harper’s Ferry.

As part of my mindful internet goal, I decided the internet does not have its place in my weekend retreat. So I will bring along some books and magazines and enjoy a disconnected weekend. Harper’s Ferry has great trails, so I am looking forward to running and hiking!

Ahoo

=( My beautiful, wonderful Garmin 305 absolutely refuses to charge. We’ve narrowed the problem down to the cradle, and ordered a new one. Which is not coming until Monday. Sniff

When I get back, I will post my thoughts on vegan week! Happy Friday, everyone!

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

