Vegan Challenge, Day 1

My diet has been officially vegan for one day. I feel pretty much the same. I’m not sure what I was expecting…maybe this:

According to Scott Pilgrim, Vegan = Superpowers

But that’s why I’m testing this for a week, right? I do feel mentally better knowing that I’m not digesting mountains of cookies and chips (New Years Day was not good to me).

Lunch was a giant green monster and two glasses of almond milk.

Green Monster:
1 banana
2 cups of spinach
3/4 cup of Almond Milk
1 tangerine
6 ice cubes

I made a grave error in this green monster – I didn’t seed the tangerine. The seeds were very bitter, so every three sips I’d hit a seed and gag a little. So, note to self – remove seeds from fruit!

For dinner, I was going to make Quinoa-Stuffed Red Bell Peppers from Shape magazine, but after hunting through Wegmans for 45 minutes with no luck for quinoa, I decided that rice would be just a fine substitute. I then realized that the recipe called for mushrooms, of which I am definitely not a fan, so I instead came up with this:

Southwestern stuffed bell peppers:
2 Red Bell Peppers
3/4 cups of brown rice
1/2 cup of corn
1/2 cup of black beans
1 small onion
1 clove of garlic
1 tablspoon of olive oil
1/2 cup of reduced fat cheddar cheese (optional)
Dash of hot sauce

Instructions
Cook rice according to package directions. Meanwhile, saute onion and garlic with olive oil in a small pan until soft, 3-4 minutes. Next, add corn, and black beans and saute until heated through. Mix vegetables with the rice and the cheese. To make it vegan, leave out the cheese. Cut off the tops of the bell peppers and remove the membranes and seeds. Stuff the rice mixture into the peppers and replace the tops. Place peppers in a baking dish and bake on 350 for 20 minutes. Serves 2!

I left out the cheese in my pepper and put cheese in Christopher’s pepper. His looked and smelled better. Oh, my beautiful cheese, how I miss you. Pre and post dinner we had a snack of hummus, pita chips and carrots.

I spent a large part of the day hunting for super on sale Christmas items at Target and Kohls. I think I was about two weeks too late, since the shelves in the Christmas section were completely bare. Oops.

Target did have awesome desk calendars on sale for a dollar, which the cashier then gave to me for 25 cents since the January page was torn. I was really happy, since she was the one who noticed the tear and offered to give me the money off. I’m hoping it will add color to my sad navy-blue cubicle, which right now is only decorated with the tear-out calendars in the back of Real Simple.

For some reason my office gave us today off instead of New Years Eve, so while the rest of the world is back at work, I am bumming around at home. I’m going to hit the gym for a spin class at 9:30. I even called and reserved a bike last night to make sure I beat out all the New Years Resolution people.

Since my schedule is free, I may re-hit the gym in the afternoon for a yoga class. I haven’t done a spin class in over two years, so we’ll see how that goes before I commit to a full on yoga session.

Good luck back at work today, everyone!
This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Challenge, Day 1

  1. Kara says:

    It maybe the massive amount of sugar I’ve consumed today, but I was questioning, “Wait, is she talking about Persian new year? Is that even now?” lol

  2. Auugh, I edited some of my old posts and now they’re showing up like I just wrote them. I don’t know why it’s doing that

    Persian new year = brilliant. Haha.

Leave a Reply

