New Years Goals!

I’ve toyed with the idea of resolutions, but all of my hopes for the new year come out better as goals, since a lot of them are challenges or one time things.

I’ve realized I work better when I have a day-to-day plan or to do list. Doing challenges fires me up and motivates me to do things I otherwise would think “oh, cool, I should try that sometime.” Blogging about it makes me even more interested in doing things!

So, here are my goals for the new year (broken neatly down into categories!):

Running. One of the things I really love about running is the ability to set tangible goals.

  • Beat my 5K PR of 32:33
  • Run my first 10K
  • Run my first Half Marathon

Yoga. Yoga’s a little trickier. “Do more yoga” was my first goal, but without a measurable goal (how will I know I achieved more yoga?), it’s not going to work out.

  • Complete Yoga Journal’s 21 Day Yoga Challenge
  • Practice yoga at least 4 days a week
  • Improve enough to attend the Yoga 3 class at the gym
  • Be able to do crow for 5 breaths.

Bakasana, Crow Pose (Image from YogaJournal.com)

Eating: I want to eat in a way that keeps my body energized and healthy.

  • Try a 7 day vegan challenge
  • Drink 3 Green Monsters a week.
  • Avoid processed food
  • Plan out my meals ahead of time so I actually cook dinner!

Mindfulness:

  • Do not waste time on the internet. This means every time I find myself mindless clicking around Facebook or the internet in general, I stop, close my computer, and think about something I really want to do or need to accomplish. Then, I go do it!

With that, I’m off to not-waste-time-on-the-internet! Have a fabulous day!

This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Years Goals!

  1. i like your internet resolution . . . i am fine with purposefully surfing, but i agree the random impulses to check facebook/reader/etc are the opposite of mindful 🙂

  2. Yes! I realized I had a problem when I found myself refreshing Facebook and google reader over and over, hoping something new would come up. I always say I don’t have time to do things, and that’s because I’m wasting it staring at something I’ve already seen! Oops.

Leave a Reply

